Excellence in Research, Teaching or Service

Any member of WAAVP may nominate a candidate (other than him/herself) by forwarding a letter describing the candidate's contributions to either research or teaching, as broadly defined above, to the Secretary/Treasurer of the WAAVP. The nominator should arrange for a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae and five (5) letters in support of the nomination to be sent to the Secretary/Treasurer by December 31st, the year before the conference.

The letter should indicate clearly an outstanding contribution to research, the impact on the field and other evidence of the recognition of the research, or indicate an excellent teaching record, outstanding contributions to training and to teaching material in veterinary parasitology and other evidence of the recognition to teaching in this field. Support from former students for a nomination to the teaching award, while not essential, could be helpful to the Awards Committee in making their selection. It is desirable, but not essential, that nominees be active in WAAVP activities.

All documents in support of a nomination, received by the deadline, will be copied to the Awards Committee. The Committee will consist of seven (7) members, nominated by the Executive Committee, who are not members of the Executive Committee (except for the President) and not themselves candidates and is chaired by the President of the WAAVP. The Awards Committee may seek another opinion on the nominees. The selection of the awardees will be made by majority written ballot by members of the Awards Committee. The President has a casting ballot in the event of a tie. The Awards Committee can elect not to make an award. The prior receipt of an award excludes a candidate from the subsequent nomination of the same award.


Awards won previously:

Year Research Teaching or Service
1993 James Armour EJ Lawson Soulsby
1995 Jitender P Dubey Jaques Euzeby
1997 Maxwell Murray Peter Nansen
1999 Desmond Hennessy Johannes Eckert
2001 Roger Prichard Gerhard Shad
2003 Peter Waller Not awarded
2005 RC Andrew Thompson Not awarded
2007 Not awarded Peter Holdsworth
2009 Robin Gasser Not awarded
2011 Jozef Vercruysse Lydden Polley
2013 Richard Wall Roger Prichard
2015 Carlos Lanusse