Honorary Member

Guidelines for the Nomination and Election of Honorary Members

Honorary Members of the WAAVP are people who have contributed in a distinguished manner to the advancement of Veterinary Parasitology.  They do not need to be veterinarians or members of the WAAVP. Such contributions can include research, teaching, distinction in the form of scholarly publications, administration of programmes of an outstanding national or international nature.

Please nominate candidates by submitting names along with a supporting statement. Nominators must be members of WAAVP.  The Honorary Membership Committee will consider nominations in time for them to be awarded at the next biannual meeting.

Honorary Members will be exempt from membership subscriptions.

Nominations should be sent to the WAAVP Secretary, Richard Wall at contact.waavp@gmail.com


Honorary Members and the year awarded are as follows:

1967K.I. Skrjabin* (SU), B. Schwartz* (USA), W. Stefanski* (Poland)
1975N.R. Stoll* (USA), R. Wetzel* (Germany), V.S. Ershov* (SU)
1981M Abdussalam* (Switzerland), K.Enigk* (Germany), H.McL Gordon* (Aust)
1983N.D. Levine* (USA), D.F. Stewart* (Aust)
1985E.J.L Soulsby* (UK)
1987J. Euzeby* (France), Dr R Supperer
1993C. Campbell (USA), B. Bezubik* (Poland), M. Cordero del Campillo (Spain)
1995J. Armour* (UK), J. Eckert (Switzerland), S.M. Gaafar (USA), G. Luffau (France), G.M. Urquhart* (UK)
1997T. Hiepe* (Germany), A. Donald* (Australia), J. Boray* (Australia), J.O.D Slocombe* (Canada)
1999T. Kassai (Hungary), C. Himonas* (Greece), W. Mulligan (UK)
2001J. Duncan (UK), I.G. Horak (Rep. Sth Africa), P. Nansen* (Denmark), G. Schad* (USA)
2003J. Williams (USA), M. Eysker (Netherlands)
2005S. Taylor (UK)
2007D. Jacobs (UK)
2009F. Borgsteede (Netherlands), F. Jackson (UK)
2011I. Beveridge (Australia), K. Fujisaki (Japan), L. Gasbarre (USA)
2015Tom Klei, (USA) E. Lyons (USA), Tom Craig (USA), JP Dubey (USA), Roger Prichard (CAN), Jozef Vercruysse (BEL), TB Stewart (USA)
2017C. Arme (UK), I.L. Owen (Australia)
2019Panchadcharam Chandrawathani (Malaysia), Rosina (Tammi) Krecek (USA), Ann R. Donoghue (USA)