Peter Nansen Young Scientist Award

Closing date for the next round of nominations : 31st December 2018

This fund is established under the auspices of the WAAVP to honour and perpetuate the memory of Professor Peter Nansen for his outstanding contributions to veterinary parasitology and, in particular, his great concern for and the encouragement of young, promising scientists in this field.

Funds generated for the specific purpose will be utilised primarily for the Peter Nansen Award to young professionals in the field of veterinary parasitology and second only to support the objectives of WAAVP.

The aim of the WAAVP Foundation for the Peter Nansen Award is to give a prize rewarding innovative and outstanding work by promising young professionals in the field of veterinary parasitology. Nominations are called for every second year. The award will be presented at the WAAVP Biennial Conference. The registration fees, economy travel costs and accommodation for the recipient to attend the Conference will be reimbursed. If not a registered member, the recipient will also receive a two-year membership of WAAVP.

Nominations are made by a proposer and a seconder, and the portfolio consists of the following documents:

(i) a detailed statement describing the innovative nature and excellence of the work by the young professional (max. 2 pages). This statement should be signed jointly by the proposer and the seconder, or each may submit a separate statement.

(ii) a Curriculum Vitae including a list of publications and a statement outlining the contribution(s) to each publication. The permission of the nominee is not required, and the nominee needs not to be made aware of his/her nomination.

In order to qualify for the award the Nominees should be younger professionals, with a Master of Science (or equivalent) or higher level degree, aged 40 or younger at the time of nomination for the prize. The call for nominations is advertised in the WAAVP Newsletter in the calendar year preceding the WAAVP Conference. Nominations should be sent to the Secretary, of the WAAVP, by 31st of December the year before the Conference and these will then be forwarded to the members of the Awards Management Committee (MC).

The Management Committee will evaluate nominated candidates, irrespective of gender, religion, and/or geographical origin. Nominations are only valid for the year in which they are made, but this does not preclude re-nomination of unsuccessful candidates in subsequent years. A candidate can only receive the award once. Serving members of the MC shall be automatically barred from being nominated themselves or from proposing or seconding someone else.

Each MC member independently assesses the qualifications of the nominees and forwards their written justified recommendations to the Chairperson. The Chairperson then circulates the individual assessments and reasons to all members of the Committee and, after considering their recommendation, submit their final choice to the Chairperson. The nominee with the highest number of votes will be awarded the prize. The MC shall return all nomination documents for unsuccessful candidates to the nominators at the same time that the successful nominee is notified. All correspondence not specifically related to the Recipient of the Award, the Recipient’s nominators and the MC shall be destroyed.

The Chairperson shall ensure that a citation concerning the recipient of the WAAVP Peter Nansen Award for Young Scientists is submitted to Veterinary Parasitology and the WAAVP Newsletter.


The main function of the MC is to assess the nominations for the Peter Nansen Award and to recommend the name of the recipient. The MC shall endeavour to raise sufficient capital to allow for the prize to be awarded. The entire deliberations of the MC will remain strictly confidential.

The Committee is responsible for overall policies of the management and the disbursement of the Peter Nansen Award capital and income. It is responsible for taking appropriate actions at specific dates related to the Award, to screen nominations, notify successful and unsuccessful nominees and notify the Treasurer to release funds.

The MC includes five members appointed by the President of WAAVP. The MC appoints a Chairperson, a Vice-chairperson and a Secretary from among its members. The terms of appointment are for four years, renewable. There is rotation of the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson with a rotation of membership. Two, respectively three, members retire every two years, the first time after two years from the start.

Dates for nominations will be co-ordinated with the WAAVP and publicised in the first sand second announcements of the WAAVP Conference and in the Newsletters. The chair of the MC is responsible for getting the nomination announcement into the WAAVP newsletter.


Previous Winners of this award are:

2001Richard Wall
2003Samson Mukaratirwa
2005Min Hu
2007Domenico Otranto
2009Aaron Jex
2011Laura Rinaldi
2013Filipe Dantas-Torres
2015Johannes Charlier
2017Abdul Jabber
2019Maria Martinez-Valladares