Executive Committee

Election to the WAAVP Executive Committee

The Executive Committee plays an important role within WAAVP, helping to shape policy and select the venue for each biennial conference. Candidates for election must be members of WAAVP and must be nominated by two existing members. Candidates need to be willing and able to serve on the committee for a period of 6 years, during which they must undertake to attend the meetings of WAAVP. Nominated candidates for election or their nominators should send a short paragraph outlining the expertise and skills that the candidate could bring to the Executive Committee, by 28th of February 2023 to the secretary/treasurer of WAAVP who will arrange for this to be circulated to the membership for voting.


President:  Domenico Otranto - Department of Veterinary Medicine University of Bari - Str. prov. per Casamassima km 3 - 70010 Valenzano (Bari) - ITALY

Vice President: Silvina Fernandez, Argentina 

Vice President: Grace Mulcahy, Ireland

Secretary/Treasurer: Andrei D. Mihalca, Romania

Past President: Doug Colwell 

Directors: Frederic Beugnet, France; Tim Geary, Canada; Cinzia Cantacessi, UK; Reuben Sharma, Malaysia; ​Filipe Dantas-Torres, Brazil; Anja Joachim, Austria 


The World Association for the Advancement of Veterinary Parasitology (WAAVP) is a not-for-profit organization for scientists who study the parasites of non-human animals, encompassing helminthology, protozoology and entomology. WAAVP membership is open to veterinarians and others who are actively interested in the advancement of veterinary parasitology, anywhere in the world. Members receive a newsletter twice a year and members are welcome, and encouraged, to contribute to this. The Association gathers at a biennial scientific conference.

Privacy Policy